Lamb vegetable roast (with hummus and sriracha)

DSC02708

Firstly an admission.  This is not a recipe – it’s more of a throw it all together type of thing.  But I’m including it because sometimes you just need a bit of inspiration, so I’m thinking someone might see this, realise they have the components in their fridge, lightbulb moment, dinner.  Feel free to substitute anything you have in the fridge that seems likely to go.  No lamb, but have chicken?  Chicken it is.  No red onion but leek?  Sounds lush.  Run out of hummus but got half a tub of guacamole?  Mmmmm that could be good.  Talking of ‘things in the fridge’ – I’m clearly a bit of an advocate of making it from scratch, but I’m also a busy bee, so sometimes a shortcut is inevitable for me.  We wouldn’t eat some days if I wasn’t able to add in ready-made items to the things I make from scratch from time to time.  I figure I do good enough.  Perfect is just not for me…

We ate this mostly because we were late home from my daughter’s playdate and needed something quick to prepare and simple to cook.  This took about 10 minutes to pull together so I was able to get on with other things, and it required minimum effort until it was ready.  I omitted the sriracha sauce for the little one’s plate, so it’s not essential.  It is my current favourite thing though, so you should expect it to crop up again!

Lamb vegetable roast (with hummus and sriracha)

Prep time 10 minutes Cook time 40 minutes Makes 3-4 servings

Preheat the oven to 190ºC fan assisted

  • 400g diced lamb (bit more, bit less, whatever you have)
  • 1 aubergine diced
  • 1 red onion (or more smaller ones) cut into wedges
  • several whole garlic cloves peeled (I used the annoying ones from the middle of a bulb that are too small to do much else with)
  • 1 courgette (I only had a half, but I’d have added more if it had been in the fridge)
  • 1 red pepper (mine was romano but any colour, any type will probably be fine)
  • a couple of handfuls of potato chunks (depending on how hungry you are!)
  • several sprigs of fresh rosemary
  • olive oil
  • hummus (shop bought or home-made – whatever you have to hand)
  • sriracha

Throw all the ingredients bar the hummus and sriricha into a suitably sized roasting tin, drizzle with the olive oil and toss.  Season with salt and pepper if you like and roast in the oven for 40 minutes, turning a couple of times before the cooking time is up.  If you prefer your roasted things extra crispy turn the heat up 10 degrees and give it another 5-10 minutes but watch it so it doesn’t burn.  Serve on a warmed plate with a dollop of hummus and a drizzle of sriracha if hot sauce floats your boat.

2 thoughts on “Lamb vegetable roast (with hummus and sriracha)

Leave a Reply

