Chocolate chip cookies

DSC02701

Adapted from Cinnamon Quill’s Vegan, Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m going to be posting quite a few baking recipes.  As you may be getting to know, I’m a mum with a toddler and we attend regular playdates every week.  Since giving up gluten and lactose my friends have been brilliant.  There they are every week trawling the ingredients lists and allegry panels of various snacks, looking for something I can eat.  Or endlessly being guinea pigs for my (not always succesful!) creations.  I’m grateful to have them in my life.  And don’t get me wrong – I love to cook and bake so I’m in no way hard done by.  But I do feel like I ought to make an effort.  Show up with something I’ve made that I can eat – because to do otherwise makes me feel awkward.  And I don’t want them to feel awkward either – as I would if I was trying to be hospitable but couldn’t accomodate a guest’s food allergies or sensitivities.  I want to be able to cook something deliciously vegan, or nut-free, raw, paleo… I want everyone to feel the warm fuzzy glow of inclusion.  And I don’t want to watch people eat cake I can’t have!  So I’m hoping that by posting some of the recipes I’ve found out there, everyone can find something to make for themselves, or for friends with specific food needs, and we can all have a bit of of that warm and fuzzy glow.

Here are some delicious chocolate chip cookies I found at Cinnamon Quill’s site.  Crisp on the outside, and chewy on the inside.  Best eaten as soon as properly cool as they don’t seem to keep well.  (That’s a shame – we’ll just have to eat them all then…)

Chocolate chip cookies

Prep time 20 minutes Cook time 10 minutes Makes 16 cookies

Line two baking sheets with parchment paper
Preheat oven to 160ºC fan assisted

  • 38g brown rice flour
  • 32g sorghum flour
  • 33g potato starch
  • 32g tapioca flour
  • 52g caster sugar
  • ¼ tsp xanthan gum
  • ¼ tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 65ml sunflower oil
  • 80ml maple syrup
  • 1½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 50g good quality dark chocolate chopped into chunks

Add all the dry ingredients to a large bowl and stir well to combine fully.  Add the liquid ingredients and mix in (I do use a stand mixer but by hand should be fine).  Fold in the chocolate chunks and leave the dough to thicken for 10 minutes.  I used a tablespoon size measuring spoon to portion out the mixture and got exactly 16 cookies. They will not need flattening using this recipe.  Bake for 10 minutes (they will look a little underdone), but leave on the tray for another 2 minutes before moving to a cooling rack.  They are a little delicate until completely cool so be careful!  Enjoy with a glass of ‘milk’ – (that’s soya milk in the background of the picture by the way, in case you were wondering).

Leave a Reply

