Banana date bread

DSC02717

Adapted from Edible Existence’s Banana Date Bread

On Valentine’s Day I went for a splurge and made vanilla cupcakes from one of my favourite dedicated gluten-free baking books, Cake Angels by Julia Thomas.  I’ve listed some of my favourite recipe books on The Library page by the way, including this one with a link, and this is going to be a work in progress.  I’ve got a lot of books!  So, back to those cupcakes which were delicious but very indulgent.  Overcome with a need to produce something more worthy the following week, and faced with a glut of blackening bananas and a overflow of medjool dates, I searched the web.  And I was not disappointed in my quest.  This bread is very tasty, and the little kids loved it despite it not being overly sweet.  No extra sugar goes in, only that from the bananas and the dates.  If I made it again I’d pay more attention to chopping those dates.  Mine were a little bit… rustic?  I think the bread would be more evenly sweet if I did that.  We ate it again the following day and the texture was a bit more gummy than on the day it was baked.  By day three it was fairly solid, but there was only one slice left and the birds were grateful in this cold snap for it.  It may well toast at this stage but I’ve got no idea how succesful this might be.  If you try it, let me know!

Banana date bread

Prep time 10 minutes Cook time 45-55 minutes Makes 1 x 2lb loaf

Grease and line a 2lb loaf tin (or cheat and use a ready made loaf liner like I do!)
Preheat oven to 170ºC fan assisted

  • 10 large dates (I used medjool) chopped2 tbsp boiling water
  • 2 tbsp sunflower oil
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 3 large very ripe bananas mashed
  • 1 large egg beaten
  • 340g Doves Farm Plain White Flour
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • handful of chopped nuts (optional)

Add the dates, boiling water and vanilla to a medium bowl and set aside.  Add all the dry ingredients except for the nuts to a large bowl and stir well to fully mix.  Use a fork to mash the chopped dates in the liquid to a bit of a mush, and then add the mashed bananas and egg to this bowl.  Add these wet ingredients to the bowl of dry ones and stir in until just combined.  Pour the batter into the lined loaf tin and sprinkle with the chopped nuts if using (the picture above is nut-free as some intended eaters were under 3 years old).  Bake in the oven for 45-55 minutes, and until a skewer inserted into the cake comes out clean (try not skewer a date piece).  Leave in the tin to cool for 10 minutes and then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely.  Serve sliced and store leftovers in an airtight tin..

3 thoughts on “Banana date bread

    • Ha! You have no idea how much I do something similar myself. I’m always pinning recipes on pinterest, and then I review my board and I’ve got the same photo over and over. I guess it means I really want to make it!

Leave a Reply

