Sandwich bread

DSC02782

Adapted from Cinnamon Quill’s Gluten-free, Vegan Buckwheat Bread

Best laid plans and all that…  I’ve been making this particular bread quite a lot recently, and I was keen to share it with you all.  Before I start getting all adventurous like, I was thinking I’d pass on the reliables I’d found.  And this bread is one of those HURRAH! moments.  Will you be able to resist eating half this loaf in one go, with various favourite toppings???  It’s all I can do to stop myself.  However, I am also quite aware that it is another one from Cinnamon Quill’s site, and given I posted the chocolate chip cookies from there last week, it does rather run the risk of making it look as though my baking inspiration is a little narrow.  But I am unashamed people, because so many of her recipes are fabulous I feel it is my duty to bring them to your attention!  Also this week has been a catalogue of baking disasters, darling.  I will, when I’ve fortified myself with a suitable quantity of wine, share the horror.  In the meantime, instead of saving this bread for a later date, when the memory of the chocolate chip cookies are fading, I’m serving it up now.  There are no other scrumptious little items from the weekend to show you.  My baking mojo has gone on holiday without me.  So there is only bread.  Thank goodness it is so immense.

Sandwich bread

Prep time 45 minutes Cook time 55 minutes Makes 1 loaf

Grease a 2lb loaf tin
Preheat oven to 210ºC fan assisted for crunchy crust or 190ºC fan assisted for softer

  • 350ml warm water
  • 1 tbsp dried active yeast
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup or brown sugar (or honey but then this loaf won’t be vegan)
  • 115g millet flour
  • 70g sorghum flour
  • 40g buckwheat flour
  • 80g potato starch
  • 65g arrowroot powder
  • 65g tapioca starch
  • 2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • poppy or sesame seeds (optional)

Prepare, if necessary, the place where you usually prove your bread.  I have an old radiator, with a towel folded on top for insulation and stability that serves me well in the winter.  In the summer I sneak it into the airing cupboard!

I usually use a stand mixer for this, but it is just as easily done by hand.  First add the yeast to the warm water and stir to dissolve.  Stir in your sweetener of choice, and leave to froth up a bit, while you assemble the other ingredients.  Measure into another bowl all the dry ingredients and stir well together.  I usually use a balloon whisk to combine dry ingredients evenly, especially when a recipe contains xanthan gum.  Now add the olive oil to the yeast mixture, and then the dry ingredients, mixing together to form a sticky dough.  Scrape this into the greased loaf tin and level off.  Sprinkle the seeds on top if using, as many as is your preference.  I like quite a lot of poppy seeds!  Cover with a damp, clean tea towel and leave to rise for approximately 35 minutes, or until it is has a nice little dome above the edge of the tin.

Bake in the oven at your initial temperature for 10 minutes.  Turn the temperature down to 170ºC fan assisted and bake for a further 40 minutes.  The success of this will be somewhat dependant on your oven’s characteristics.  For example, I turn my loaf after 20 minutes at the lower temperature because the back right is hotter and the loaf will catch there unless I move it!  Keep an eye on your bread, and as it may need maybe 5 minutes less, or 5 minutes more to be perfect for you.  The bread should be coming away from the sides of the pan when done, and if you turn it out if should sound hollow when tapped on the bottom.  Whatever you do, do not cut the loaf when hot to see if it is done.  This can cause the inside of the loaf to collapse completely and leave it with a wet gummy texture from which it cannot be saved. Cool the loaf in the tin for 10 minutes before transferring to a wire rack. Be patient and wait until it is cool before cutting.  I’m sure you will be rewarded for your patience!

Leave a Reply

