Vegetable burgers with sweet potato skinny fries

DSC02858

This blogging business keeps a girl honest I’ve discovered. I feel compelled to tell you the truth.  First off, that slice of tomato you see up there in that photo?  See how it is carefully nestled under that baby spinach which has all the lovely sriracha-laced mayo on it??  Whipped that baby right out of there after I took the photo without loss of lovely greens and delicious condiment.  Please see my previous post on my hatred of raw tomato (shudders) but that’s what goes in a burger, isn’t it?  Pretty!  But not for eating, until it’s safely in a soup or sauce.  And that cheeseboard I popped the burger and fries on because it looked so gastropub of 3 years ago?  Yep, swapped it for a plate I could load up with more fries and more mayo.  Lastly, and perhaps the most important point, is this recipe is work in progress.  It tasted great, but perhaps I will tweak further as I work on the structure of said burger.  Because I lost 2 of 4 made as they are delicate little souls that require the utmost care, or you’ll be cursing a pile of vegetable crumbs under your breath.  (Note – if you have no one within earshot, especially a child who likes to repeat every word you say, no need to keep the bad language to yourself – just let it out. You’ll feel so much better).  To reiterate, these burgers are not yet for you if you think a collapsing patty will cause you untold sadness.  I still have one more burger worth of mix left so I’ll see if I can update soon.  I’m trying to make them without egg, just because, and I’m looking to recreate a sort of Birds Eye veggie burger of my youth.  Looking at what’s in them now, I distinctly remember peas and not broccoli, and apparently they contain mozzarella.  What the…?!  I can tell you now that MUST be a new thing.  I went with cannellini beans because I quite like a bean burger, but I didn’t want these to be overpowered in colour or taste by the bean.  I like my vegetable burgers to taste of the actual vegetables, and those vegetables are not to be fancy.  Carrots, peas, sweetcorn and onion.  Perhaps I will have to swap out the beans for mashed potato to get the right consistency to keep them together.  I’m shunning even gluten-free breadcrumbs because I don’t always have them.  I’m looking for a burger I can make out of the usual things I have in the cupboard or fridge because of the bun.  It is all the fault of the bun.  I made these lovely creations at the weekend from Allergy Free Alaska’s blog.

DSC02819

They are delicious, and soft, and toasted in the griddle pan, wow!  But I just don’t have the time to make fancy buns AND fancy burgers, so I want a simple, but delicious little thing that doesn’t upset my calm by disintegrating if I just raise my eyebrow at it.  Because let’s face it, there will be no shortcuts available with the gluten-free baking, will there now folks!

Vegetable burgers with sweet potato skinny fries

Prep time 90 minutes Cook time 30 minutes Makes 5 medium burgers and a big pile of fries

  • 2 tbsp olive oil + a glug for the fries + a little for frying the completed burgers
  • 1 medium small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 medium carrot, diced
  • 400g can cannellini beans, drained
  • 198g can no salt sweetcorn, drained
  • frozen peas (as many as fit into the now empty sweetcorn can)
  • 2 tablespoons sesame seed butter (or peanut butter)
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes
  • salt and pepper
  • ‘breadcrumbs’ (optional) I used Organ All Purpose Rice Crumbs

To serve

Warm the 2 tbsps olive oil in a large pan with a lid, add the diced onion.  After a few minutes add the diced carrot, stir and cover with the lid to sweat for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Meanwhile drain and rinse the cannellini beans and mush with 1 tbsp of water using a fork.  This can be fairly rustic, so you want no beans left whole but chunks of bean are ok.  Stir in the drained sweetcorn and the two tablespoons of sesame seed butter.  Peel and slice the sweet potatoes into skinny chip shapes and place in a bowl.  Drizzle with a little olive oil, and season.  Shake into a single layer on a baking tray and set to one side.  When the diced carrot is soft, but still has some bite, add the frozen peas, stir and replace the lid, and leave for 3-4 minutes.  Remove from the heat and leave this mixture to cool and then stir into the beans and sweetcorn.  Combine fully and leave to firm up in the fridge for at least an hour.  Near the end of this time preheat the oven to 190ºC fan assisted and also warm either a cast iron griddle pan preferably, or a large frying pan with a little oil.  Shake the crumbs onto a shallow plate and form portions of the burger mix into patties (I made five medium, but you should just make them to the right size for your burger buns), and then coat them (carefully!) with the crumb.  Gently fry the burgers over a medium-high heat in the griddle or frying pan to get a bit of colour onto them – approximately 5 minutes per side.  Transfer the burgers to a baking tray, with the care you’d handle a newborn baby, and then the oven to warm through and perhaps colour a little more, for 20 minutes.  Put the tray of skinny chips into the oven at the same time, and turn these after 10 minutes.  Slice your burger buns and perhaps toast the cut side on the griddle you used earlier for burgers.  Gather your extras, and when the burgers are hot all the way through, build your perfect burger.  Shake the fries onto the side and sprinkle with extra salt if you wish.

Leave a Reply

