Vegan cream liqueur (a cocktail)

Vegan cream liqueur

Inspired by spabettie’s homemade Baileys Irish cream

Ooh it’s Thursday – time for a cheeky pre weekend cocktail!  Just recently I’ve had occasion to miss out on two lots of cream based liqueurs.  The local curry house (lovely gluten-free food – nom, nom, nom) gives all the ladies a complimentary Baileys at the end of a meal.  The gentlemen get a brandy.  We also get a single rose, so it’s not all bad.  Actually I rather like a Baileys.  Obviously you wouldn’t spend the whole night drinking them, but at the right time they are just the ticket.  Then, just a couple of days later I was out for dinner again (I know!), this time at an Italian place (proper separate gluten-free menu – top marks) with pre and post dinner cocktails.  I went for the after dinner ‘apple crumble’ but a friend had the ‘creme caramel’.  I was a bit jealous, but I am not to be defeated.  I have been perusing with interest (for which read drooling) over spabettie’s cocktail recipes for some time. I too plan to have a few options to post now and again.  I don’t have the time now for drinking as I did in my youth (or for dealing with the hangovers!), in all honesty, but a little snifter here and there is always welcome.  Hardly any of my ingredients are the same, I’ve used brandy not whiskey for a start, so it is less of an adaptation and more of a mauling of the original.  But without it I wouldn’t even have thought of a vegan, and therefore lactose-free, cream liqueur.  Enjoy responsibly!!

Vegan cream liqueur

Prep time 5 mins Cook time 1 hour (to chill) Makes 6-7 large measures

  • 250ml carton Oatly cream alternative*
  • 2 tbsp boiling water
  • 2 tsp instant coffee
  • 2 tsp icing sugar
  • 1 heaped tsp cocoa
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • ¼ tsp almond extract
  • 60ml brandy

Dissolve the instant coffee in the boiling water. Either using a stick blender or a liquidizer blitz all the ingredients together.  Check for alcohol and sweetness remembering it will taste a little different when chilled.  Adjust as necessary, chill and enjoy!

PS Sorry for the really poor photo.  I will try and update it this weekend in daylight, but tonight I just wanted to drink it so I gave up too quick!

*Please note that Oatly classify their product as ‘low gluten’ and so it may not be suitable for those with coeliac disease or strong sensitivity

4 thoughts on “Vegan cream liqueur (a cocktail)

  1. I love this recipe!! Who knew? I enjoy a Bailey’s coffee, especially at the holidays and have been missing same since I went vegan. This may be just the thing 🙂 Thank you for posting!

    • Thanks for commenting! I hope if you try it you’ll like it. I guess whiskey is a more authentic Baileys taste, but I just prefer brandy. Perhaps I should do a taste comparison, which would mean making more. I’m sure I’d cope though!

Leave a Reply

