Spicy bean and tomato stew (with roast chicken)

Chickpea and two bean stew with roast chicken

Adapted from Good Housekeeping 101 Easy Recipes Low GI by Lynda Brown

I’ve finally seen off the last of the giant tomatoes from this week’s vegetable box.  I could bore you stiff with the ins and outs of why I get them, because surely you can set a preference with a veg box.  So yes I could, but no I don’t, and sometimes monstrosities the size of my fist appear.  Luckily I knew just the thing to be finally rid of them this time.  I’ve been making this low GI dish from the Good Housekeeping book for a few years now.  Whereas I do like a roast with all the trimmings, I very rarely roast a red meat midweek but I will do a chicken.  And faffing about with roast potatoes on a busy and rainy Wednesday is just not happening.  Also, this recipe is almost infinitely adaptable – the original calls for tinned haricot beans, but I subbed these out for fresh broad beans this time, because I had them and they needed eating.  The green beans I used were frozen by the way, because I love putting them in curries so having smaller amounts to hand is very useful.  Supermarket packs seem so huge and they are not compatible with my consumption rate!  This stew also works as an accompaniment to fish, and is lovely enough on its own, in which case it is vegan.

Spicy bean and tomato stew (with roast chicken)

Prep time 10 minutes Cook time 30 minutes (just for the stew) Makes 4 (adult) servings

  • a roasted chicken, or cold cuts, or grilled fish (optional)
  • 225g green beans
  • 500g broad beans (unshelled weight)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 2 fat garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 2 small green chillies, finely chopped (optional) or hot sauce (optional)
  • 1 tbsp ground coriander
  • 1 tbsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 4 medium tomatoes (or 3 massive ones!), roughly chopped
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh coriander
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh mint
  • 400g can chickpeas (or other tinned pulse), drained

Bring a saucepan of water to boil, and prepare and cook your beans according to whether they are fresh or frozen (my fresh broad beans needed shelling from their pods and took 6 minutes.  My frozen green beans took 4 minutes).  Drain and set to one side.  In a large frying pan warm the olive oil and then soften the onion and garlic over a low heat for about 5 minutes.  Add the dry spices, stir and let cook for a couple of minutes.  Add the fresh green chilli, if using.  When I’m cooking for my toddler I leave this out and add hot sauce to adult portions at the end.  Stir the chopped tomatoes and fresh herbs into the onion, garlic and spice mix.  Season and cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Drain and rinse the chickpeas and add to the pan with the green beans and broad beans, and allow to heat through completely.  Check seasoning and serve, with your meat or fish if using.

Leave a Reply

