Alaskan lodge cookies

Alaskan lodge cookies

Adapted from Alaska from Scratch’s Wilderness Lodge Oatmeal Cookies and the Official Nebraska Government Website’s Sorghum Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

One can never have too many cookie recipes…  I became addicted to the Alaska from Scratch blog before I gave up gluten and lactose.  It was the Nutella-Stuffed Peanut Butter Cookies that did it for me.  Can you imagine such a thing?  You know the loss of Nutella weighs heavily on me (it contains skim milk and whey powder), but on the bright side I discovered that this cookie was not the best one on this blog.  In my humble opinion this prize goes to the Wilderness Lodge Oatmeal Cookie, a chewy, gooey, humdinger of a confection.  So, one of my main missions in my life PG (post gluten) is the most accurate recreation of this delight.  My latest stab at it is pretty good, and it would keep me happy if it was the only one I ever got to eat again.  I bet I keep trying though, which may be fruitless because there is no gluten, it is not wheat based, it will not be the same.  But perhaps I could get it a little closer? A little chewier perhaps? Or perhaps my brain is remembering a cookie that doesn’t really exist – an imagined experience.  I can’t exactly go back and check out a regular one now can I?!  But I’m straying off topic.  This cookie also comes to you from the Official Nebraska Government Website, as I guess they are big sorghum growers out there.  If you’re a sorghum flour fan they have several recipes to try, so just follow the link for more treats.  I thought their suggestion of sorghum, sweet rice and gram flours would produce a good ‘chew’ factor and it is a mighty fine cookie.  Check it out and let me know what you think.

Alaskan lodge cookies

Prep time 15 minutes Cook time 10-12 minutes Makes 20 cookies

Line 3 baking sheets with baking parchment
Preheat oven to 160ºC fan assisted

  • 115g butter, softened
  • 100g soft light brown sugar
  • 55g granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • ½ tsp vanilla essence
  • 100g sorghum flour
  • 32g sweet white rice flour (glutinous rice flour)
  • 20g gram flour (garbanzo bean flour)
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • ½ tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 70g gluten-free quick cook oats (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 50g dark chocolate, chopped to chip size
  • 40g raisins
  • 15g desiccated coconut

Beat the butter and the two sugars together until light and fluffy – I used a stand mixer, but an electric hand mixer or wooden spoon would do the job.  Add the egg and vanilla essence and beat again until fully combined.  In a separate bowl weigh out the three flours, xanthan gum, bicarbonate of soda, cinnamon and salt.  Stir this thoroughly before adding to the wet mixture and beating again until fully combined.  Add in the oats, raisins, chocolate and desiccated coconut using a spoon mix until evenly distributed.  Divide the dough into the cookies – I used an ice cream scoop to make them as even in size as possible.  Squash them down with a fork to your preferred thickness, as they won’t spread when they cook and, in fact, will puff up a bit.  If you prefer a thinner cookie, as I do, then you need to get them properly flat before you bake.  Cook in the oven for 10-12 minutes, until golden brown.  Leave on the baking sheets for a couple of minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool.  For me these cookies are best when nearly cold because that is when they are chewiest!  If you prefer a softer cookie then warm will be good, and they are easily refreshed the following day if you pop them into a cool oven (100ºC) for a few minutes.

2 thoughts on “Alaskan lodge cookies

  1. Hey there,
    Just thought I’d let you know that you can get a Nutella alternative from Asda that is very nice.(http://groceries.asda.com/asda-estore/search/searchcontainer.jsp?trailSize=1&searchString=chocolate+spread&domainName=Products&headerVersion=v1&_requestid=237037).
    I haven’t tried any of your recipes yet but I think I’ll give the vegan liquor a go first. On a night when Joe and Freya are about probably, so I don’t make myself sick.
    See you soon, Ange

Leave a Reply

