Cakejack!

Cakejack

This is another, not really a recipe thing.  Another rescue attempt!  I’m working on a vegan banana muffin, possibly with peanut butter and/or chocolate but it’s not all gone according to plan.  I made a batch of the muffins and they were a bit dry, if I’m honest, and needed saving.  So I made some vegan chocolate ganache, but when it cooled the fat from the milk was all marbley and looked most unattractive (I had used Kara coconut milk drink so I reckon it possibly wouldn’t have happened with soya milk).  I tried to fix this by slicing the tops off the muffins, cutting them in half and then filling and topping them with the whipped chocolate ganache.  This made them look like mini sandwich sponges and therefore much better.  But the ganache failed to comply and just stiffened up into an unspreadable lump about halfway through.  The flavours all tasted good, it just looked terrible!  Not to be defeated I broke all the cakes into crumbs, including the gananche, and tested for whether they’d hold together in balls for a cake pop type thing.  They did but were still a bit dry to eat so I wondered if I could make this into a proper dessert rather than a baked good.  Something to be served warm, with cream, which would provide balance to the dryness (I think it was the oats, which were an attempt to make these muffins more healthy, but with flax eggs it probably wasn’t necessary – doh!).  So, I looked at my bowl of chocolately oaty crumbs and thought…flapjack.  With the addition of dairy-free spread and golden syrup, the muffins became cakejack.  A cross between a cake and a flapjack.  These proportions worked just fine, so I reckon they could be replicated for any amount of leftover oat muffin if it was already frosted.  I really hate wasting my mistakes, so if you do too and you find yourself with leftovers, give this a go.  A really tart sauce, like a raspberry coulis, would probably also be lush.

Cakejack!

Prep time 10 minutes Cook time 25 minutes Makes 1 tray

Preheat the oven to 160ºC fan assisted

  • 12 oat based muffins, with frosting (chocolate worked very well)
  • 130g dairy free spread (I used Pure Sunflower)
  • 125g golden syrup
  • dairy free cream (I used Oatly cream alternative*) or tart fruit sauce to serve (optional)

Grease and line a shallow roasting tin with parchment paper, leaving long sides to make lifting the cakejack out easier.  In a large bowl break apart the muffins and frosting until you have a breadcrumb texture.  I used two forks to pull the muffins apart without getting too messy.  In a saucepan melt the dairy free spread and golden syrup, being careful not to boil.  Pour this over the muffin crumbs and stir well.  Transfer to the tin and press down into the corners and level the top.  Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes.  Leave in the tin for 10 minutes to cool slightly but serve warm with dairy free cream, or a tart fruit sauce, or both!

*Please note that Oatly classify their product as ‘low gluten’ and so it may not be suitable for those with coeliac disease or strong sensitivity

Leave a Reply

