Almond and fruit overnight oats

Almond and fruit overnight oats

I am such a big fan of breakfast.  Maybe it’s because I’m guaranteed to be properly hungry, or that it comes with coffee, or that the possibilities are so endless.  I’m next most fond of brunch, therefore, because it is just a way of getting more breakfast options by staying in bed late!  Of course, brunch rarely occurs these days as the child is awake far too early.  We do, however, regularly feast upon the ‘second breakfast’.  Brunch by another name for when you’ve already eaten once.  What’s not to like about that?!  Which leads me to overnight oats.  Despite my love of eating breakfast, and my (misguided?) belief I am a morning person, I do not function on all cylinders until my one and only, albeit very large, coffee is brewed and inside me.  I have lost count of the times I’ve poured juice on my cereal, failed to boil the kettle and poured cold water on the coffee, or let a saucepan of oats boil dry on the stove while I was distracted elsewhere.  Therefore, the opportunity to make breakfast the night before so there is less to go wrong first thing the following morning really appeals to me.  It is a bit of a misnomer, in that you only need a few hours to make overnight oats, so I do sometimes make it very early in the morning and have it for second breakfast.  C thinks this breakfast is great, which is wonderful if you need to quickly feed a small person something healthy and filling before a day of activity, and you’ve actually remembered to make it the night before.  Otherwise my preference would be to make hot porridge, which leaves the whole thing vulnerable to my un-caffeinated brain.  This recipe is versatile – you can make it with, or top it with, almost anything.  This one comes out soft and creamy, and sweet enough for us with just the natural sugars in the nut butter and banana, but feel free to add extras. Google overnight oats for a host of suggestions – nuts, other nut butters, fruits, chocolate, cinnamon, honey, etc.  The chia seeds are quite important here because they help with the final texture, but I imagine flax would work similarly if that’s what you have.  And lot of other recipes out there use yogurt and I do sometimes do that, but this version just happens not to, and it is one of our favourites.

Almond and fruit overnight oats

Prep time around 5 minutes Cook time 3-8 hours (actually it is chilling in the fridge time)  Makes 1 adult and 1 small child serving

You’ll need a clean jar with an airtight lid, appropriate sized Tupperware or bowl and clingfilm

  • 70g gluten-free porridge oats (not quick cook – I used Nairn’s)
  • 250ml almond milk
  • 1 small, ripe banana, chopped
  • 1 tbsp almond butter + extra for swirling (optional)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • a handful of frozen raspberries, defrosted overnight in the fridge separately

Measure all the ingredients, bar the raspberries, into your jar, tub or bowl.  Stir well, seal, and place in the fridge.  The following morning (or at least 3 hours later) open the jar, stir again, decant into bowls if you’re feeding two or more of you.  If there is just one of you, eat it out the jar and save on washing up!  If you’re swirling extra almond butter do that now, then top with the now defrosted raspberries and serve.

4 thoughts on “Almond and fruit overnight oats

  1. breakfast is my favorite meal as well and overnight oats is so yummy. due to the fac that its cold out i still like making hot cereal, but i look forward to making overnight oats more in the summer! so refresing and yummy

Leave a Reply

