Sriracha and lime popcorn

Sriracha and lime popcorn

Adapted from Rachel Kelly’s popcorn with smoked paprika, chilli and lime salt as featured in The Guardian, and Around My Family Table’s siracha popcorn

I first saw the smoked paprika, chilli, and lime salt popcorn in The Guardian food section a while back.  It looked delicious!  But I am also the owner of a rather large bottle of sriracha and although I’m not lacking in visitors, I do live only with a small person and a cat.  I believe the guidelines on hot sauce consumption by toddlers and felines is very little to none…  So, having started the 740ml by November challenge (yes I know it will probably not spontaneously combust on the day it goes out of date, but I’m a very goal orientated person) I need to find more ways to consume it.  Last night I made a very inauthentic version of quesadillas – a recipe to follow eventually as this is very early stages, but I did make my own corn tortillas (and therefore without the gluten of shop bought ones) and they were REALLY EASY to do!  So happy making.  But in the meantime, I’m generally just sloshing sauce on things I’d eat hotter than C would, like those quesadillas, because I’m not adding it while I’m cooking.  Anyways, back to the popcorn which is off-limits to the under-5s and so all for me!  I discovered butter was the medium by which the sriracha was going to best coat my snack via the recipe from Around My Family Table.  But I loved the idea of a lime flavour as well, like a spicy salsa on popcorn.   This lime powder by the way is the citrus kind, made from dried limes, as opposed to ‘chemical’ lime powder, which is calcium hydroxide.  Not the same beast at all.  A final sprinkle of salt flakes (not entirely necessary but delicious none the less) and you’re all set for movie night.  Grab a beer.  You may be needing it.

Sriracha and lime popcorn

Prep time 5 minutes Cook time 5 minutes Makes a large bowl

  • 80g unpopped popcorn
  • 2 tbsp oil (if popping in a pan)
  • 30g butter or dairy-free alternative
  • 2 tbsp sriracha
  • 1½ tsp dried lime powder
  • a sprinkling of sea salt flakes (optional)

Pop your popcorn, either in the microwave following the packet instructions, or in a pan.  If using the stove then add a couple of tablespoons of oil (sunflower or vegetable) and the unpopped kernels to a large saucepan.  Shake and cover with a tight-fitting lid.  Turn the heat on high and wait for the corn to pop, shaking the saucepan frequently throughout.  When the popping seems to have just stopped, take the pan from the heat, shake again and set to one side for another 30 seconds.  Do not take the lid off the pan during the popping or until after the 30 seconds off the heat is up.  Transfer the cooked popcorn into a large ceramic bowl (rather than plastic) and place to one side.  Melt the butter in a small saucepan, and stir in the sriracha and dried lime powder.  Pour over the popcorn and stir well to coat completely.  Sprinkle with the flaked salt, if using, stir and sprinkle some more.  Serve with water, or beer, or something to drink!  Maybe a napkin for the saucy fingers.

2 thoughts on “Sriracha and lime popcorn

Leave a Reply

