Banana, chocolate and almond milkshake

Banana, chocolate and almond milkshake

Did you overindulge yesterday?  Big lunch, a ton of chocolate and possibly a few cheeky vinos?  Yeh, me too.  I’m never one to shy away from a holiday feast.  So, here it is Easter Monday and I’m not quite ready to give it up yet.  This is still a day of holiday and I want it to feel like one, but I surely know another day of excess like yesterday is probably not that the best idea I’ve ever had.  I’m easily fooled though (even by myself).  I am the kind of girl who sets her clocks a few minutes fast so although I’m always late I’m actually on time.  And no that doesn’t really work.  This milkshake does though!  If feels like I’m consuming something decadent and yet no, nothing even remotely dodgy in here.  You need to do a bit of advance prep by freezing your very ripe banana chunks the day before, but once that’s out the way, happy days!

Banana, chocolate and almond milkshake

Prep time around 1 day (freezing time) Cook time 5 minutes  Makes 2 medium glassl

You will need a fairly powerful liquidizer and something to scrape down the sides

  • 340g frozen banana chunks (two very ripe frozen bananas cut into chunks and frozen overnight on a parchment lined baking tray)
  • 250ml + 4-6 tbsp almond milk
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 heaped tsp almond butter (optional) – I used Meridian roasted almond butter for the slight saltiness if brings

Place your frozen banana chunks into your liquidizer and give them a whizz.  Initially it will just chop them into chunks, but perseverance is the key here.  Scrape down the sides and blend some more.  If your machine starts to sound like it is labouring then add some almond milk, a couple of tbsp at a time, scraping down the sides as you go.  Keep adding the small amounts of milk, scraping the sides down and blending until you end up with a soft ice cream substance.  Add the cocoa powder and the almond milk and blend again to create your thick banana chocolate milkshake.  If you’re using almond butter, take 1 heaped tsp per glass and swirl around the inside of your glass so it sticks to the sides.  Pour your milkshake into the glass and serve with a wide straw and spoon to scrape out the almond buttery goodness.

5 thoughts on “Banana, chocolate and almond milkshake

  1. Hi! Just stumbled upon your blog — and glad I did! I haven’t eaten gluten in about a year due to health reasons, and I also just started blogging about it. Your recipes look delicious and I look forward to trying a few 🙂

    • Hi! Thanks for checking out my blog. I’ve just been over to yours and wow does that Italian Easter bread with the whole eggs braided into the dough just look amazing! I’m also a bit jealous of your cover photo. Loving the killer heels!!

  2. Why thank you! lol. I’ll admit I had some fun taking that photo! And yes, the Easter bread turned out fantastic. I’m actually thinking about adapting more of my nonna’s recipes as well!

  3. banana and chocolate are always the combination of heaven, this is such a simple and nutritious milkshake, I’d love to have this for breakfast, that’d be really great ^^

Leave a Reply

