Almond cookies

Almond cookies

Adapted from Easy Almond Cookies by Jo Dickson on allrecipes.co.uk

So who couldn’t do with losing a few pounds every now and then?  I have to say I’m not much of a ‘dieter’ – I don’t have the patience or inclination (if I’m really honest!) to count things – but I’m happy to get on board with the friends that it works for.  I won’t be the girl stuffing down a giant cupcake while everyone else nibbles a cracker!  Last week I had a stab at making some ‘1 point cookies’, and by that I mean WeightWatchers points.  Unfortunately they were truly dreadful.  One friend said she liked them although I still maintain she was just being nice.  Why anyone would want to eat one of them, let alone treat themselves to more I have no idea.  The birds quite liked them though!  So, we had a discussion and I’ve agreed not to bring anything worth more than 4 points.  Knowing that the treat will be worth that my friends can plan accordingly.  And because a 4 point cookie will taste delicious it really will be a treat, even if they have just one.  So, today’s cookies are worth 4 WeightWatchers ProPoints or PointsPlus according to the online calculators I used (one to work out the nutritional value of the recipe, and one to calculate the points for that).  Please note I haven’t been using officially branded websites and thus I cannot be completely sure of their accuracy.  So if you know otherwise please let me know and I’ll update the post.  Otherwise enjoy your crumbly on the outside, soft on the inside, almond cookies because they really are delicious.

Almond cookies

Prep time 10 minutes Cook time 15-20 minutes Makes 16 cookies

Preheat the oven to 160ºC and line baking sheets with parchment paper

  • 150g butter, softened or dairy-free alternative (I used Pure Sunflower)
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 50g ground almonds
  • 35g sorghum flour
  • 35g millet flour
  • 35g sweet rice flour
  • 35g arrowroot flour
  • 35g potato starch
  • 2 tsps ground flaxseed
  • ¼ tsp almond extract

Weigh out the flours, sugar, ground almonds and flaxseed into a bowl.  Add the butter or dairy-free alternative and mix together with a fork until it starts to form a breadcrumb like mixture.  Add the almond extract and continue working with the fork to bring it together into a sticky ball of dough.  If you want to be accurate weigh this mixture and divide the amount by the yield to get the weight of each ball of cookie dough.  Otherwise they are approximately the size of walnut.  Pinch off enough dough, roll into a ball and space out evenly across the baking sheets.  I had eight on each sheet.  Press each one down a bit with a fork and bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes, until starting to turn golden.  Remove from the oven and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

