Date oatmeal cookies

Date and oat cookies

Adapted from Martha Stewart Oatmeal-Date Cookies

If I tell you something about how I live, will you promise not to judge me?  No, no this isn’t more ‘I hate x vegetable’ weirdness (although lettuce, raw onion and raw tomato are just WRONG people).  This is about making time for a cup of tea.  So, there are little things I do that supposedly make my life easier.  First, I could drive to a local village and pick up my gluten-free flours BUT… I hate the shop’s car park (it’s pokey) and it’s not near anything else.  I can’t go there on the way to, or from, another thing so it feels inefficient.  I can, however, sit at home enjoying a nice cup of tea while I order my flours from a fine internet establishment and have them delivered direct to my door.  Now that seems like acceptable multi-tasking!  I also buy a vegetable box that is delivered weekly.  Initially I did this because I had a 9-5 job, no car, and I was much more likely to cook a meal from scratch if I didn’t have to go the supermarket on the way home to buy ingredients before slaving away in the kitchen.  I still get a vegetable box but I also take C to the store because she loves it.  Identifying things on shelves from the list is super fun, if you’re nearly 3, and we scan our own shopping and bag it as we go round.  She loves holding the ‘bipper’.  The fact though is that it is easier to have something coming to the house every week without me doing too much thinking about it.  We regularly fail to do any shopping because other things just get in the way!  In my next life I promise to be more organised…  Anyway, the plus is that I can also update my weekly order while enjoying a nice cup of tea!  However, there is a teeny, tiny flaw in all this tea drinking and that’s sometimes I forget.  I have lists, sure I do, but you have to remember to write on the list or it’s not much use.  And you know how toddlers are, I get a regular order of things she’s really into, and then suddenly she’s not and it takes me a while to realise.  Thus, the great date glut of April 2013 is caused entirely by me not noticing that C has pretty much gone off dates and yet they come in my weekly order regardless and now we have four bags.  Luckily I love dates, and cookies, and C isn’t really off dates when they are in cookies, so there you are.  Lovely with a nice cup of tea.  Now what else was supposed to go on that flour order???

Date oatmeal cookies

Prep time 15 minutes Cook time 10-12 minutes  Makes 20 cookies

Preheat the oven to 170ºC fan assisted and line baking sheets with parchment paper

  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 3 tbsp very hot water
  • 130g dairy-free alternative to butter (I used Pure Sunflower)
  • 110g packed light-brown sugar
  • 25g granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 25g sweet rice flour
  • 25g potato starch
  • 25g tapioca flour
  • 25g millet flour
  • 25g ground almonds
  • 112g rolled oats
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 100g dried dates, chopped into small pieces

First whisk the ground flaxseed together with the just boiled water and pop in the fridge while you assemble the other ingredients.  In a stand mixer or by hand, whisk together the dairy-free butter and two sugars until light and fluffy.  In a separate bowl measure together all the flours, starches, ground almonds, oats, bicarbonate of soda, salt and cinnamon and mix well.  Add the vanilla essence and flaxseed retrieved from the fridge to the butter and sugar and whisk again.  Carefully fold in the flour mixture and finally the chopped dates.  Place heaped teaspoons of the mixture on the baking sheets well spaced as they spread quite a lot. I made 20 medium cookies over 3 baking sheets from mine.  Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes, until they are golden brown all over but not overbaked.  Leave on the sheets for around 5 minutes until they are solid enough to transfer to a wire cooling rack.

Leave a Reply

