Rhubarb cobbler

Rhubarb cobbler

Adapted from The Pioneer Woman’s Rhubarb Cobbler

More rhubarb this week!  A slightly different take on the crumble, with a cobbler instead.  What I particularly like about this is that you chop up the rhubarb nice and small, and then you don’t have to pre-cook it before using it in the dessert.  You can be done and dusted in 45 minutes if you get a wriggle on!  This recipe is adapted from the Pioneer Woman and she puts almond extract in with the fruit.  Genius!  Wow it is so delicious I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to make this without putting it in.  I’ve tried to make this an easy gluten-free recipe by using a pre-made flour mix but I find it a bit gritty alone, so I’ve enriched it with some ground almonds.  With the almond extract in with the fruit this makes a perfect match.  I swear this dessert turns you into Nigella.  By which I mean you won’t get past any leftovers without taking a spoon to them.  Is it wrong to eat spoonfuls of leftover cobbler before breakfast?

Rhubarb cobbler

Prep time 10 minutes Cook time 30-35 minutes Makes 6 adult servings

Lightly butter an ovenproof dish.  Preheat the oven to 175ºC fan-assisted

  • 375g rhubarb, diced in ¼” chunks
  • 125g + 2 tbsp + 1 tbsp light soft brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • ½ tsp almond extract
  • 150g Doves Farm Gluten-Free Plain White Flour
  • 60g ground almonds
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 2 tsps baking powder
  • 45g vegetable shortening (I used Trex)
  • 45g butter
  • 80ml milk (I used Arla Lactofree semi-skimmed)
  • 1 large egg

To a large bowl add the diced rhubarb, 125g sugar, lemon juice and almond extract.  Stir thoroughly and put to one side.  In a separate bowl weigh out the flour, ground almonds, 2 tablespoons sugar, salt and baking powder.  Mix together well.  Add the shortening and the butter and rub together until you get a breadcrumb texture (or use a pastry blade).  In a jug beat together the egg and milk. Pour this into the flour mixture and stir with a fork until you have a thick batter (it will thicken after a minute or so).  Tip the rhubarb into a buttered baking dish.  Drop large teaspoons of the batter onto the fruit to form a “cobbled” texture. Sprinkle another tablespoon of sugar over the top.  Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or until golden brown and bubbly.  Serve warm with your choice of accompaniment, such as cream, ice cream or custard.

5 thoughts on “Rhubarb cobbler

    • I think you probably could easily if you use wheat flour. I’d make more things vegan if I wasn’t relying on the eggs to provide binding and lift when sometimes when my choice of flours takes some of that out. I often find it really difficult to do decent ‘spongy’ things without gluten and eggs. Not that I don’t practise! I will eventually nail it. 😀

Leave a Reply

