Fancy flapjacks

Fancy flapjack

Adapted from Kids’ Baking by Sara Lewis

Why are these flapjacks fancy I hear you all cry?!  Because you will need TWO saucepans people to make these.  Not just the one you might be expecting, but two whole saucepans.  Fancy, right??  (Note: if you only have one saucepan, do not despair!  There is nothing to say you can’t just wash up your one saucepan in between making the two bits of this.  I’m just lazy.)  The reason you will need two is because they have a special layer of apple and date goo and it makes them fabulous.  I like flapjacks well enough but sometimes I can find them a bit dry.  No chance of that with these.  The extra layer makes them moist and moreish!  I think the book they came from is out of print, and I came by it when the book van came to our office.  It feels like a million years since I worked out there in the big real world (actually it’s been getting on for 5 years) but I can’t imagine the book van isn’t still a common thing.  I think the premise is books that have been published for a while are sold at discount prices because the stock has been bought wholesale.  Anyway, as soon as I saw this book I knew I had to have it.  I didn’t have a child then so I didn’t buy this so a youngster could make the recipes, it was entirely for me!  What I liked was how easy the recipes seemed, no unnecessary faffing about, and no fancy ingredients you’d never use again.  A solid workhorse of a cookbook.  I even bought a copy for my mum after she ate the banana gingerbread (another recipe that is really good).  If you happen to come across a copy you should pick it up as it won’t disappoint.

Fancy flapjacks

Prep time 15 minutes Cook time 25-30 minutes Makes 16 servings

Line an 8″ square cake tin, or equivalent size brownie pan, with parchment paper leaving ‘tails’ at either end to help lift out the finished cake.  Preheat the oven to 160ºC fan-assisted

  • 1 large or 2 small dessert apples, peeled, cored and diced into ¼” pieces
  • 150g stoned chopped dates
  • 4 tbsp water
  • 150g dairy-free spread (I used Pure Sunflower) or butter
  • 75g light muscovado sugar
  • 75g golden syrup
  • 75g gluten-free plain flour (I used Doves Farm)
  • 245g gluten-free oat based museli (I used Tesco Free From Pure Oat Museli*)

Put the diced apples and the dates in a small saucepan along with the water, cover and cook over a low heat until soft.  Put to one side.  In another saucepan measure out the dairy-free spread, sugar and golden syrup.  Heat gently, stirring occasionally until the spread has melted and the sugar dissolved.  Take the pan off the heat and add the flour and museli and stir well.  Put ¾ of this mixture into the prepared baking tin and push down into the corners until level.  Now spoon over the apple and date mixture and spread into a layer over the museli one.  Finally dollop spoonfuls of the remaining museli mixture over the top and push them down with a fork until the top is almost level.  If there are gaps where the date and apple mixture shows through this is all the better.  Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes until the top is golden.  Leave in the tin for 10 minutes before marking into portions.  Don’t remove the flapjacks from the tin and serve until completely cold.

* The  museli I use for this is the one I eat for breakfast too – through many trials I’ve found it most closely resembles the one I used to eat prior to going gluten-free.  It has no nuts, but contains sunflower and pumpkin seeds.  If the museli you are using does not contain seeds or nuts and you’d like to include some, please feel free to reduce the amount from 245g to 200g and top up with your choice of seeds and chopped nuts.

Leave a Reply

