Pork and aubergine noodles

Pork and aubergine noodles

Adapted from Ching-He Huang’s Fragrant Pork and Aubergines on BBC Food

In case you are wondering what happens to “the troublesome feline” when I go away, I can tell you that a house/cat sitter comes and looks after him.  It’s not that I object to taking him to a cattery, it’s just the nearest ‘nice’ one is a little journey away and, as with most things, it is not cheap.  When he has to stay in one then working on the basis you get what you pay for I’m glad it is a bit pricey, but I reserve it for special occasions.  I’d rather have a housesitter anyway, especially when it is hot, because the garden gets watered as well!  I always get the box of vegetables I would normally have for the housesitter – and they always vow to eat them – and then they never do.  So I’ve been the queen of stir-fries since I came back hefting through the rapidly expiring veg mountain.  One pack of bok choy and some celery didn’t make it (composted) but I’ve been impressed with the amount C and I have got through.  I’m a bit obsessed with tofu at the moment (I think it was the mostly meat and fish fest that was France) although we did eat veggie one evening.  So you may expect a little run of recipes featuring that to come up soon.  I’ve not quite perfected the sriracha and peanut sauce one yet but I’ll let you know when I have.  In the meantime, here’s a little something for the carnivores amongst us.  I am working on getting a gluten-free chilli-bean sauce, which is what the original recipe called for.  Many apologies for the general mauling of what, in the original, was probably quite an authentic dish from this cuisine.  If you like chilli you should pop some in from the start but as you’ll probably know by now I’m happy to swap some out with hoisin when I’m cooking for C.  It does change the lean of the whole dish, but it is no less tasty.  And with my trusty bottle of sriracha I can spice things up at the end for myself with no worries.  You just go right ahead and do whatever works best for you.  I won’t come round and tell you off!

Pork and aubergine noodles

Prep time 10 minutes Cook time 20 minutes Makes 2 adult servings

  • 4 tbsp avocado oil
  • 1 aubergine, halved lengthways and cut into ½” slices
  • splash of water
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp grated fresh root ginger
  • 1 red chilli, diced finely (optional)
  • 225g pork mince
  • 1 tbsp dry sherry
  • 2 tbsp gluten-free hoisin sauce (I used Westcountry Spice Company)
  • 200ml hot chicken stock
  • 2 heads bok choy, shredded
  • 1 tbsp clear rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp toasted sesame oil
  • 2 spring onions, sliced
  • 1 tbsp cornflour, mixed with 2 tbsp cold water
  • Sriracha sauce, to taste (optional)
  • 2 ‘bundles’ of King Soba gluten-free brown rice noodles cooked

In a medium saucepan heat some water for the noodles.  In a wok or a large frying pan, heat 2 tablespoons of the avocado oil until smoking.  Add the aubergines and stir round for a minute before adding a splash of water to create a bit of steam.  Continuing frying the aubergine until it is soft and has taken on some colour.  Remove from the pan and put to one side.  Pour in the other 2 tablespoons of avocado oil and heat.  Cook your noodles according the packet instructions, and drain when done, toss through a little sesame oil and keep warm to one side.  Add the garlic, ginger and chilli if using to the hot avocado oil and stir-fry quickly for just a few seconds before adding the pork mince.  Fry for only a minute before adding the sherry.  Cook for another few minutes, until starting to brown and then add the hoisin sauce and chicken stock.  Add the aubergines back to the pan and also the shredded bok choy.  Pour in the vinegar and sesame oil, and bring to the boil.  Cook for another few minutes until the pork mince is cooked through.  Add the sliced spring onions and stir through.  Finally add the cornflour liquid and stir through until thickened.  If you’re using sriracha sauce for heat add it now and stir through.  Serve the pork and aubergine with the noodles in warmed bowls.

2 thoughts on “Pork and aubergine noodles

Leave a Reply

