Peanut butter and white chocolate chip blondies

Peanut butter and white chocolate blondie

Adapted from Cake Angel’s White Chocolate and Peanut Butter Blondies by Julia Thomas

Having recently moaned about brownies being everywhere, here is a blondie recipe.  Because they are completely different, right??  Depending on which brand of chocolate you use, you might find the chunks just dissolve during cooking.  Sometimes this happens and I never remember to go back and look at the chocolate wrapper so I can’t advise on which ones work and which don’t.  But never mind, even if you can’t find the chocolate chunks in the end result, it still tastes delicious.  A lovely change from a brownie but with all the convenience of such a baked good.  This time I took mine as my contribution to a BBQ.  The host had made delicious looking deconstructed strawberry cheesecakes (basically, fill the bottom of a disposable glass with crushed biscuit, top with a sweetened cream cheese mixture and top with chopped sweetened strawberries) and a chocolate cake.  Obviously I couldn’t eat either of those, but they looked great!  I might have to try finding a way to make the deconstructed cheesecake, without the gluten and the lactose.  Can you hear the cogs in my brain turning?

Peanut butter and white chocolate chip blondies

Prep time 10 minutes Cook time 30-35 minutes Makes 16 servings

Line an 8″ square cake tin, or equivalent size brownie pan, with parchment paper leaving ‘tails’ at either end to help lift out the finished cake.  Preheat the oven to 150ºC fan-assisted

  • 150g crunchy peanut butter
  • 100g dairy-free spread (I used Pure Sunflower)
  • 175g soft light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 125g gluten-free plain flour (I used Doves Farm)
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 75g chopped dairy-free white chocolate

In a large bowl with an electric whisk, or a stand mixer, beat the peanut butter and dairy-free spread together until very light and fluffy – approximately 3 minutes.  Now add the sugar, egg and vanilla extract and beat again until well combined.  In a separate bowl combine the flour, ground flaxseed and baking powder.  Add this to the peanut butter mix, and then fold in the chopped chocolate.  Pour the batter into the prepared baking tin and bake in the oven for 30 minutes, until the top is golden and just set.  Leave to cool in the tin completely before cutting into squares and serving.

8 thoughts on “Peanut butter and white chocolate chip blondies

  1. “Creak… creak…” (just the cogs in your brain turning!). These blondies look gorgeous. I love the fact that you added flaxseed and peanut butter, I imagine that it’d give it such a lovely nutty contrast against the sweet white chocolate. Yum. Definitely trying these!

    • I’m sure Penny’s cogs turn more smoothly than that! 🙂 I agree that the flavor combination sounds absolutely exactly right.

      I hadn’t realized dairy-free white chocolate was even available, but I see there’s at least one kosher vegan brand. Nice! I don’t strictly avoid dairy or know anyone who does, but I try to file this kind of info away just in case.

      • You’re very welcome. I am only just getting caught up with the blogs I follow since my week of holiday back in June. That is how behind I am. I’m multi-tasking – reading blogs, watching tv and drinking a glass of wine! I don’t think I could honestly function without coffee but I love all your reasons for going back to it. I’d say I identified with having given up so much already, giving up coffee too would be a step too far!! Glad your test results were good as well. 🙂

    • They are indeed moist and soft! Perhaps too much as they tend to fall apart as you bite in!! Better that though than overbrowned and crunchy in my opinion. I too prefer something just baked rather than overdone.

Leave a Reply

