Summer rice salad (with griddled skirt steak)

Summer rice salad (with griddled skirt steak)

Adapted from The Art of Manliness’ Skirt Steak 5 Ways by Matt Moore

As I mentioned last time, I won’t bore you all summer with grilled thing plus side salad recipes.  But this one was really good!!  Really simple, fresh tasting, the herbs totally make this salad.  And it is so quick and easy you could throw this together as an accompaniment to pretty much anything.  Grilled meat, fish, BBQ tofu, it would work wonderfully with them all.  The original recipe calls for feta, which I didn’t have so I omitted it.  It was wonderful without but I will be making this again with the cheese because I’m very sure it is excellent that way too.  The original used orzo as well, and if you can tolerate wheat I say go for it.  I’ve not yet found a gluten-free mini pasta (manufacturers – there is a desire!) so I swapped it out for long-grain rice and it worked great.  I know I’ve mentioned my general dislike of raw onions (other than the pickled onion, which is a whole other kettle of fish) but this salad only contains a small amount.  Just enough to get the odd tingle in a mouthful without it being overpowering.  Now that I can get on board with!  I have served this with a griddled steak this time, but this salad will suit almost any protein and is very suitable for scaling up and taking to a party or BBQ.  If you’re tired of eating tomatoes and cucumber in a regular side salad then this is another way to take those ingredients a different summery way.

Summer rice salad (with griddled skirt steak)

Prep time 10 minutes Cook time 15 minutes Makes 2 adult servings

  • 120g long-grain rice
  • ½ small red onion, very finely diced
  • ¼ small cucumber, finely diced
  • 8 cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 tbsp fresh oregano, chopped
  • 1 tsp fresh mint, chopped
  • 1 tsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper

First cook your rice according to the packet instructions.  Mine needed gently simmering for 15 minutes.  My preferred method of cooling rice is to return it to the hot pan after draining and cover with a clean tea towel to steam off the residual water.  After a few minutes spread the rice out on a large clean plate to cool complete before transferring to the fridge.  I don’t like to rinse my rice in cold water as I find it makes it too wet and no amount of draining can fix it.  Bear in mind rice needs careful handling if it is not to be eaten immediately, so refrigerate as soon as possible.  In the meantime, prepare the cucumber and tomatoes, finely chop your herbs and prepare your chosen protein.  When you’re ready to plate up, add all the salad ingredients to a large bowl and combine thoroughly.  Season then serve.

Leave a Reply

