Chunky guacamole

Chunky guacamole

I was tempted to call this store-cupboard guacamole or cheat’s guacamole because it is the one I make most often and it bears only a passing resemblance to the real McCoy.  It also takes about five seconds to make.  Yeah I sometimes get the proper ingredients, and faff about de-seeding and peeling big tomatoes.  If I’ve planned to make it as part of a larger meal then I might well, but I often find myself with a very ripe avocado and I need to use it up fast.  Perhaps I should have just called this chunky avocado and tomato spread!  I can usually shoehorn guacamole, or whatever it really is, into what we’re having for dinner.  This recipe is for you if you’re the sort of cook I used to be, before having C. I remember once having a meltdown because I didn’t have feta cheese and I needed it for the salad I was making.  Not a shouty, cursing, having a cry meltdown.  Just a panicked, I don’t know what to do instead, everything is ruined meltdown.  Chuckle.  I can’t imagine losing it over a salad any more, but then life has changed somewhat since I would consider that a big deal.  Now you’d get any cheese I’ve got in your salad and I’d brazen out any suggestion it wasn’t supposed to be like that, and believe you should be grateful to be seeing any sort of cheese at all!  It may not be authentic but you can make a delicious guacamole type dip with just a handful of ingredients and only five minutes.  Embrace what you’ve got to hand and make it anyway, however improper it might be!  You may recall I’m not keen on raw onion, so this has none but feel free to add some if you love it.  I also believe guacamole should be creamy and not spicy.  Salsa spicy, guacamole creamy.  Again, if you want some pep, chop a chilli nice and fine and whack it in there.  Now I love garlic, and I would usually go with the premise that you can never have too much.  Of course raw garlic can be a bit potent and in my many years of cooking, and when I was less wise, I ruined otherwise perfectly serviceable guacamoles by being heavy-handed.  A small clove people, is all you need.  Trust me.

Chunky guacamole

Prep time 5 minutes Cook time 0 minutes Makes 1 small bowl

  • 1 medium, properly ripe avocado
  • 4 cherry tomatoes, cut into quarters
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice (because I have a bottle in my fridge – use lime if you have it because it is better!)
  • salt and pepper

Halve and de-seed the avocado, then scope out the flesh and mash it up very well.  Stir in the quartered tomatoes, minced garlic and lemon juice.  Season with salt and pepper.  Cover and chill until needed.  It really is as simple as that!

3 thoughts on “Chunky guacamole

  1. Ha, ha! One of the other gluten-free blogs I follow (that will remain nameless so I don’t freak her out) publishes what I’m just about to post a day or two ahead of me, with an unnatural frequency. So I have to shelve mine for a while so I don’t look like I’m copying her. We are obviously just quite in sync, but it is peculiar and I wonder how many times I do it to her!!

  2. Pingback: Black bean and quinoa burgers | sensitive flour

Leave a Reply

