Creamy tomato soup

DSC04883

Adapted from Poppy’s Patisserie | Bunny Kitchen’s Tomato and Coconut Soup

I’m sure I’d like you to all think that I’m 200 recipes ahead of my publishing schedule and I’m planning weeks of meals way in advance with a tightly controlled, recipe led, shopping list in hand.  It is true I’ve got a lot of draft posts in the bag, but I can’t publish things until I’m sure they’re going to work, and anyway I really am at the mercy of the weekly veg box for much of the time.  I know I could just ditch it and go completely with organisation and certainty, but I know I’d miss that vegetable lottery.  I genuinely revel in the challenge of planning meals around what turns up.  My life is that exciting!!  It’s like living in a game show based on constant rounds of Ready Steady Cook.  So, I found myself with some rapidly collapsing giant tomatoes and a heat wave.  I ate this soup chilled, but I tasted it hot and both ways it was lovely.  I’ve robbed the method directly from Poppy’s Patisserie and her Tomato and Coconut Soup, rather shamelessly!  But I wasn’t in the mood for coconut – I may have overdosed after making dairy-free ice cream last week (recipe to follow) – hard as that is to believe!  If you like a very smooth soup then you may want to sieve this after blending, but I liked the texture as it was.  Super tasty from roasting the ingredients.  It has no dairy in it, but it still tastes creamy – that’ll be the little bit of almond milk in there.  Delicious.

Creamy tomato soup

Prep time 5 minutes Cook time 75 minutes Makes 2 (adult) servings

Preheat the oven to 180ºC fan-assisted

  • 3 large tomatoes, cut in half
  • 1 small onion, peeled and cut into wedges
  • ½ bulb of garlic, papery skin off and tips cut to slightly reveal cloves
  • small handful of fresh oregano leaves
  • 1 tsp + 1 tsp oil
  • 1 tbsp tomato purée
  • 250ml stock, your choice but something light (I used Marigold Swiss Bouillon Reduced Salt)
  • 200ml dairy-free milk (I used almond milk)
  • salt and pepper

In a small non-stick roasting tin (or line a regular one with foil) place the tomatoes cut side up and put an oregano leaf on each one.  Tuck wedges of onion in between the tomato pieces.  Drizzle one teaspoon of oil over the vegetables.  Lastly put the garlic cloves in a small piece of tinfoil and drizzle with the other teaspoon of oil before drawing up the sides to make a parcel.  Pop this into the pan with the tomato and onion and bake in the oven for 30 minutes.  After this time remove the onion wedges and place them in a saucepan, but continue roasting the garlic and tomatoes for another 30 minutes.  Now tip the tomatoes into the saucepan with the onion, and squeeze the garlic cloves out of their skins also into the pot.  Pour in the stock and bring to a simmer, cover with a lid and leave to bubble slowly for 8-10 minutes.  Pour in the dairy-free milk, stir, and cool slightly before blending, either in a liquidizer or with a stick blender.  Check the seasoning and if you are sieving do this now.  Otherwise either reheat to serve or allow to cool before chilling and serving later.  Check the seasoning again just before serving if you are doing so with it cooled, as the drop in temperature dulls the flavour and more may be required.  Hot or cold, garnish with a few extra oregano leaves if you wish.

6 thoughts on “Creamy tomato soup

Leave a Reply

