Black bean and quinoa burgers

Black bean and quinoa burger

Adapted from Bake Your Day’s Black Bean Burgers

I am a sucker for a veggie burger and would generally choose such a thing over a meat burger every time.  It’s not that I don’t eat meat, obviously, but there is something about a veggie burger done right that ticks so many happy boxes for me I struggle to describe it adequately.  If you too find great joy in such things YOU MUST MAKE THESE BURGERS.  I cannot implore you enough to have these in your life so you will feel better about, well, everything.  I’ve tweaked them a bit, had them spicy and not so much.  Go to the original recipe and, if you can have all the ingredients listed there, then just do it.  I’ve never made them with panko, what with it being all wheaty and that, but if you can then you probably should.  I’m sure the original way is the best.  That said, even with my tweaks these burgers almost want to make me cry they are that good.  Now, I only had shop-bought white gluten-free burger buns this time, and to be fair they are as dry and flavourless as eating a small block of polystyrene.  BUT I did not care because they served their purpose of keeping the yummy burger, guacamole, saucy, salady goodness stuck together enough to get into my mouth without disintegrating into a pile of mush.  If, however, you have the time and the inclination to make your own buns then it would be totally worth it. (I like these buns from Allergy Free Alaska).  My other tweak (in addition to using gluten-free breadcrumbs) was to remove some of the spiciness.  I put in just one teaspoon of sriracha and omitted the cayenne from the original.  I’m sure if the recipients of your culinary efforts were adults or older children you’d be good to go with the original amounts.  But C isn’t terribly keen on properly hot food so I tone it down a bit in the burger, and then make up for it by adding more sriracha to normal Heinz Tomato Sauce for mine and slathering that over the bun.  A bit of slightly garlicky chunky guacamole, a slice of tomato and some lettuce and we are good to go.  I bet a spicy mayo, or hummus would work just as well in these.  So go on, make them.  You know you want to!

Black bean and quinoa burgers

Prep time 30 minutes Cook time 20-25 minutes Makes 6 medium burgers

  • 85g uncooked quinoa
  • 240ml vegetable stock
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed + 3 tbsp hot water
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 2 carrots, peeled and finely diced
  • 1 small onion onion, finely diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 400g can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1½ tsp paprika
  • 1½ tsp ground cumin
  •  ¼ tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • ¾ tsp sea salt
  • ¼ tsp black pepper
  • 3 tbsp tomato ketchup
  • 1 tsp gluten-free soy sauce
  • 1 tsp sriracha sauce
  • 20-25g gluten-free breadcrumbs (I used one slice of Genius Brown Bread)
  • gluten-freeburger buns, to serve
  • additional accompaniments, such as sliced tomato, lettuce, onion, guacamole, tomato ketchup, sriracha sauce, hummus, mayo, etc.

First cook the quinoa according to the packet instructions, using the stock instead of water.  If your packet has no instructions (as mine does not), then you need to rinse the quinoa or it will be bitter.  In a sieve wash it well, swishing it around against the mesh, for a few minutes to get the bitter coating off (you can’t see it, so it’ll look the same after, just wet!).  I then simmered mine in the stock for 15 minutes until the liquid had evaporated and the grains were tender.  In the meantime make up your flax egg, by whisking the tablespoon of ground flaxseed with the hot water in a small bowl until combined.  Chill this until needed.  Also while the quinoa is cooking soften the carrot, onion and garlic in a separate pan for 8-10 minutes over a low heat until soft and then put to one side.  Place the drained beans into a large bowl, then tip in the carrot, onion and garlic mixture, and mush it about to break up the beans and combine.  The original recipe suggested using a pastry blender and, if you have one, this is an excellent choice!  Now add the herbs and spices, sauces, breadcrumbs and flaxseed mixture, and stir until well combined.  Now form six patties from this mixture and chill it for a minimum of 20 minutes.  The original recipe suggests up to two days is fine, and I can confirm at least one day is no problem.  Because I oven bake mine (you can also fry them) I place my formed patties on a silicon sheet on a baking tray as this can be transferred directly from fridge to oven.  Preheat your oven and placed the chilled burgers in the hot oven for 20 minutes, turning once halfway through.  Prepare your buns and accompaniments and assemble complete burgers before serving.  I also served mine with sweet potato fries.

5 thoughts on “Black bean and quinoa burgers

    • I’ve not tried but I don’t see why not. The burger might be less ‘meaty’ looking with white beans instead of black, but the flavour will be very similar I’m sure. Something like a cannellini bean are you thinking?

Leave a Reply

